Skip to content

Happy Thursday!

February 24, 2011

I am currently experiencing an obsession that I think I should share with you…..

(HINT)

*It has to do with the outdoors*

I have been looking into finding locations for observations and practicums in my area and one thing I am looking for specifically is a great outdoor space.  In this endless search for a location I have done some extra research on what a great outdoor space for a childcare setting should really look like and I have found so many inspiring images. I have found so many that I cannot just give them to you all at once because that would be wonder overload…..

Sooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo……In addition to Magical Monday book reviews I have decided to add another weekly feature called:

Playscape Thursday !

Playscape is the term used by landscape architects and designers who specialize in designing and building playspaces that look and feel like a natural environment. For a playground to be considered a “playscape” the space should be as natural as possible, with as little man made components as possible. Using native plants, rolling hills, lots of trees; playscapes represent a natural place such as a forest. Playscapes are designed with the intent of bringing children and people back to nature. Playscapes offer a wide range of open-ended play options that allow children to be creative and use their imagination. Playscapes offer a wide range of developmental benefits to children, rehabilitation programs and all people in general.

 

 

 

It will include things like photos, links, articles, DIY’s and all based on outdoor spaces that children.

 

I hope you are as excited as I am….

 

J

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

