Skip to content

Found: Treasure

March 6, 2011

 

Oh boy, we had a discussion in class the other day about how computers are taking over the world and how important it is for educators to hold the value of the printed book. After this conversation I had an urge to add to my book collection so I can single handedly preserve some of history. I wanted to feel apart of keeping books alive so after class I walked over to Chapters book store and …Whoa, I cannot afford to buy new books. A little distraught I left the store and wandered home. The next day I went to a fantastic thrift store downtownlooking for a watch and i stumbled across a shelf of childrens books, most of which were stained or ripped BUT upon closer inspection I found some real winners….

” In merry England in the time of old, when good King Henry the Second ruled the land, there lived within the green glades if Sherwood Forest, near NottinghamTown, a famous outlaw whose name was Robin Hood”- The Merry Adventures of Robin Hood

(Photos taken with my Iphone and edited with the Instagram App)

The Merry Adventures of Robin Hood Author Howard Pyle

Gulliver’s travels Author Jonathan Swift

Treasure Island Author Robert Louis Stevenson

Tommy Snooks Author Unknown (missing a page or two)

Up the Windy hill Author Aileen Fisher

Favorite Tales from Grimm and Anderson Illustrated by Jiri Trnka

Ohhhhh how lucky can I be. All of these classic books for under ten dollars! Now I will spend my spare time remembering how beautiful the English language was and enjoying the art that is story telling!


J.

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 6, 2011 9:54 am

    Always good to find those treasures, you will keep them forever! I’ve got a very old Anna Karenina on my bookshelves. 🙂

    xx

Leave a Reply

